IWMN Symposium Header.png

ANCHORED IN HOPE

A One-Day Symposium on Resilience and Flourishing



July 31, 2021

11:30 AM to 6:30 PM EST | 10:30 AM to 5:30 PM CST |
9:30 AM to 4:30 PM MST | 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM PST

Early Bird (until July 17th): $35
General Admission: $50

About the Symposium

As the pandemic and personal challenges persist and we start to get weary with the passing of time, what does it look like to be anchored in hope?

This year’s one-day, online IWMN Symposium led largely by women of colour will focus on encouraging all women of all walks of life to find their grounding in Christ; creating space to process with one another through small groups, receive prayer and support, and move forward together anchored in resilient hope.

Our distinguished and prolific Speakers and Panelists will address the following topics in order to equip us with tools and wisdom as we wrestle with questions such as:

 

  • What are some strategies and tools we can leverage to remain anchored in hope?

  • What is the role of mental, spiritual, and physical health in resilience and flourishing?

  • How can we lean into community to remain anchored in hope, even when community looks different during this time or has its own difficulties?

  • And more!


Join in this empowering movement of women from across the United States, Canada, and beyond for this momentous time of grounding, healing and transformation.

 
 

Speakers and Panelists

Proud to bring inspirational speakers and panelists from across the U.S. & Canada 

Pastor Maggie Norbal

Pastor | Educator | Entrepreneur

Montreal, QC, Canada

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 6.02.58 PM.png

Paula Fuller
Leader of Leaders | Theologian | Reconciler

USA and Trinidad

Linda McRae.png

Dr. Linda P. McRae,

PsyD, LCSW, MDiv

Psychologist | Pastor | CEO

Winston-Salem, NC, USA

Christina Page, MA Applied Linguistics, MA Theology

Intercultural Educator | Faculty Member | Pastoral Team

Surrey, BC, Canada

Roen 'Blu Riva' Higgins

Spoken Word Poet | Special Care Counsellor
| Impact Coach

Montreal, QC, Canada

Donna Nealy, MSc

Business Owner | Wholistic Health & Wellness Consultant | Fitness Trainer

Kernersville, NC, USA

Kelly Maurice, BSc, MSc

Scientific Researcher | Educator | Teacher

Calgary, AB, Canada

Briana Wong, MDiv, PhD

Professor | Purveyor of Justice | Theology Faculty Member

Winston-Salem, NC, USA

Pretina J. Lowery

Poet | Author| Minister

Las Vegas, NV, USA

Kareen Aristide

Counselor |Coach| Entrepreneur

Gatineau, QC, Canada

Lindsay Nadine Benoît 

Worship Leader | Pastoral Team | Teacher

Montreal, QC, Canada

With your hosts...

Renita Sims

Vision Executive, IWMN

San Diego, CA, USA

Constance Perry, JD

SoCalWMN Director

San Diego, CA, USA

 

Schedule

Saturday, July 31, 2021

Please be sure to make note of the correct time zones: PST | MST | CST | EST

First Session 

8:30am - 8:40am PST  | 9:30am - 9:40am MST  |  10:30am - 10:40am CST | 11:30am - 11:40am EST

  • Welcome & Opening Prayer         

 

8:40am - 8:50am PST | 9:40am - 9:50am MST | 10:40am - 10:50am CST | 11:40am - 11:50am EST 

  • Praise & Worship

 

8:50am - 9:35am PST | 9:50am - 10:35am MST | 10:50am - 11:35am CST | 11:50am - 12:35pm EST

  • “What Does it Mean to Be Anchored in Hope?”

Speaker: Pastor Maggie Norbal

9:40am - 9:49am PST | 10:40am - 10:49am MST | 11:40am - 11:49am CST | 12:40pm - 12:49pm EST

  • Break

 

9:50am - 10:00am PST | 10:50am - 11:00am MST | 11:50am - 12:00pm CST | 12:50pm - 1:00pm EST

  • Spoken Word 

Artist: Roen 'Blu Riva' Higgins

10:00am - 10:30am PST | 11:00am - 11:30am MST | 12:00pm - 12:30pm CST | 1:00pm - 1:30pm EST

  • Panel 1: “Bringing All of Who We Are to the Table: Soul, Spirit, and Body”​

Panelists: Dr. Linda P. McRae, Briana Wong, Donna Nealy

  • SOUL: “The Role of Mental Health in Resilience and Flourishing”

Speaker: Dr. Linda P. McRae

10:30am - 11:25am PST | 11:30am - 12:25pm MST | 12:30pm - 1:25pm CST | 1:30pm - 2:25pm EST

  • SPIRIT: “Who Is Our Spirit Anchored To?”

Speaker: Briana Wong 

  • BODY: “Rock that Body! You Only Have One” 

Speaker: Donna Nealy 

  • Question & Answer Period

11:25am - 12:10pm PST | 12:25pm - 1:10pm MST | 1:25pm - 2:10pm CST | 2:25pm - 3:10pm EST

  • Meal Time and Healing Prayer

Second Session​

12:10pm - 12:40pm PST | 1:10pm - 1:40pm MST | 2:10pm - 2:40pm CST | 3:10pm - 3:40pm EST

  • Small Groups                                             

12:40pm - 1:50pm PST | 1:40pm - 2:50pm MST | 2:40pm - 3:50pm CST | 3:40pm - 4:50pm EST

  • Panel 2: "Community and Church as Factors for Resilience and Growth"

Panelists: Christina Page, Kelly Maurice, Kareen Aristide

  • RELATIONSHIPS: “Intentional Connection in the Midst of Change and Isolation”

Speaker: Christina Page 

  • IDENTITY: “We Are Different, But We Are the Same”

Speaker: Kelly Maurice

  • CHURCH: “Staying Grounded When the Church Doesn’t Have It Together”

Speaker: Kareen Aristide

  • Question & Answer Period

1:50pm - 1:58pm PST | 2:50pm - 2:58pm MST | 3:50pm - 3:58pm CST | 4:50pm - 4:58pm EST

  • Break

2:00pm - 2:10pm PST | 3:00pm - 3:10pm MST | 4:00pm - 4:10pm CST | 5:00pm - 5:10pm EST

  • Who is the International Women's Ministry Network (IWMN)?

2:10pm - 2:20pm PST | 3:10pm - 3:20pm MST | 4:10pm - 4:20pm CST | 5:10pm - 5:20pm EST

  • Spoken Word​

Artist: Pretina J. Lowery

 

2:20pm - 2:50pm PST | 3:20pm - 3:50pm MST | 4:20pm - 4:50pm CST | 5:20pm - 5:50pm EST

  • Closing: "Sometimes We've Got to Fight Our Way to Hope"

Speaker: Paula Fuller

2:50pm - 3:05pm PST | 3:50pm - 4:05pm MST | 4:50pm - 5:05pm CST | 5:50pm - 6:05pm EST

  • Closing Remarks, Thank You's and Giving of Shalom     

3:05pm - 3:30pm PST | 4:05pm - 4:30pm MST | 5:05pm - 5:30pm CST | 6:05pm - 6:30pm EST

  • OPTIONAL: Healing Prayer Time 

 

Are you ready to be anchored in hope?